Cornwall Croquet logo
Cornwall Croquet Club
End of Season Report

Sun 10 Oct 2010 - Presentation Day

On a very pleasant, and well attended, Sunday afternoon, 10 October 2010, the following cups or trophies were presented to the winners of club competitions:

    Winner Runner up
       President's Cup Association Croquet (AC) Richard Griffiths ?
  President's Cup Golf Croquet (GC) Des Honey Richard Griffiths
  Plymouth Cup (AC) Des Honey Stephen Read
  Dowding Cup (AC) Des Honey Tony Dyson
  Short Lawn Summer Series Des Honey Richard Griffiths
  Golf Croquet Knockout Competition Des Honey Elizabeth Schofield
  Golf Croquet Doubles Competition Des Honey and Tony Dyson ?
  Read Trophy Russell Moore ?
  Golf Handicap Singles Competition Elizabeth Schofield David Edwards

Des Honey is consulting structural engineers regarding the loading of his sideboard :-)


2010 has seen a very successful season in terms of new members joining and greatly improved standards of play by some of the older members and a third court in preparation.

Richard Griffiths, Vice-Chairman and Coach of the Cornwall Club, won the national Croquet Association Treasurer's Cup, a competition between eight invited contestants, held this year at Ryde, Isle of Wight.  Playing at home Richard with a negative handicap is at a disadvantage. He did, however, beat the experienced Tony Backhouse to win the President's Association Croquet Cup.

Des Honey 2010

This has been Des Honey's year. He also won the Short-Lawn series and, partnered by Tony Dyson, won the Wilson Salvers, the Association Doubles Tournament trophy.


He was also a Runner-up in a tournament at Budleigh Salterton earlier in the season.            

Short Croquet Summer Series results
Short Croquet Summer Series results
            Photo of new court (3) in preparation             
new lawn 3 in preparation Oct 2010